Biting is Easy

If anyone tries to tell you that writing is easy, it’s probably because you misunderstood them and they actually said “biting is easy” or “fighting.” Maybe they actually think “lighting” is easy. Maybe they work in the lighting department at Lowe’s? All I know is there’s no way they said writing’s easy. I guess I always knew that was true but what I’ve found since finishing my novel in October of 2013 is that the real work hadn’t even started. What I probably should say is that writing as a job is hard. It’s not always the getting the ideas on paper that’s the super difficult part, it’s staying focused enough to revise—and revise again. And again. It’s knowing how to pitch your story like a guy selling ice cubes to polar bears. It’s trying to figure out just how you want this work to be birthed, all scrunch-faced and screaming. Traditional publishing? Self-publishing? Leaving copies of your manuscript on doorsteps?

It’s all over-whelming. Exciting. Exhausting. Miraculous. It’s made me start to question if I’m cut out for this. But it’s also reminded me that sometimes you just have to plug your nose, close your eyes and leap. It’s also made me wonder if Lowe’s is hiring.

Leave a comment